night ride

Jon and I decided to ride the mustache trail at night last night. I invited a huge number of people but Jon and I were the only people who showed up. It was Still a lot of fun. We made really good time up the road and the sun was still up for a good portion of it. we dropped into williams just as it was starting to get dark.

mustache night 006

I was using a new handlebar mount for my hero cam because I couldn’t rig it up so I could run my light and my camera on my helmet at the same time. Sorry the video has so much vibration. I love my blacksheep fork but I don’t think that a rigid fork is going to produce very good quality video when my camera is mounted to my handlebar.

I stopped filming before we got to the mustache trail for 2 reasons. 1- it was pretty dark by then and I didn’t think the footage would turn out and 2- I didn’t want to give away its location, so sorry if you were curious about it. Shortly after we turned the camera off Jon’s fork decided to blow up and shoot up to about 130mm of travel. Not sure how he managed to ride that thing down like that but it was leaking and making crazy noises the whole time. I am sure its already fixed though. If you look close in the video you can see Jon’s sweet custom frame bag he just got for bike camping. It was made here locally in the springs by a friend of his. Very nice quality and it seems to be great for holding your battery and an extra jacket for night rides.

4 Comments

  1. doug
    Posted April 30, 2009 at 4:59 pm | Permalink

    who’s musical stylings are those? sorry i didn’t make it, it was too nice a day to ride at night.

    • epicrides
      Posted April 30, 2009 at 5:07 pm | Permalink

      its a joanna newsom song off her first record. i think it was called yarn and glue as well. she put it out herself i believe. any plans this weekend?

      • doug
        Posted April 30, 2009 at 7:16 pm | Permalink

        probably ride the road on saturday and have you and shaun hammer me into the ground on sunday if it’s dryish

  2. Posted April 30, 2009 at 7:50 pm | Permalink

    that still shot of you and the sky is a really neat perspective! yea!!!! i like that!

    i’ll have to check out the vid when i get home this evening….

    really fun stuff you’re doing.

    enjoy those secret trails;0)

    jj


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

