friday ride with mary

I feel really lucky. I had a great ride today with my friend Mary. I had a really on day on the bike as well. Those are always nice. On the climb on the way up my legs felt strong for the first time this year so I really pushed it to see what I could get away with. I seemed to make really good time, so I was really happy about that. Mary and I decided to shorten our loop from our original route because it looked like the weather was going to turn bad. Last week I was having lots of seat post slipping problems with my indy but I used some fsa carbon compound on the seat tube and it stayed put the entire ride. I was pretty happy about that because the slipping seat post has been causing me some knee problems as of late. Here is version 2.0 of my indy.

At the top of the climb it was a lot colder than i had expected but luckily i had a vest stuffed in my camel back and it saved by butt because the descent was pretty chilly. I have been eating dates during rides and I have had excellent results. I highly recommend trying them as a riding fuel. They work really well.

I really enjoyed riding with Mary. We had good conversation and I got to show her some new trail she had not ridden before, so I was stoked to see what she thought. I got about 40 minutes of riding footage and spent most of my afternoon editing it down to just under 10 minutes. I am really happy with how it turned out. I still think I need to angle the camera up a little more and figure out a way to stabilize it a little more to cut down on the shaking on my helmet. After all the limp wrist music I have been using for my videos I figured it was time to use a little metal. Seems fitting I guess. I hope the weather holds out for sunday. Keep your fingers crossed!

My friend Scott Taylor from denver sent me this video of him riding in buffalo creek with his dog. It fully made my day yesterday. I figured I would share it.

5 Comments

  1. Pablo
    Posted May 3, 2009 at 3:10 am | Permalink

    That was some nice vicarious riding for a Belgian afternoon

  2. thefreewheels
    Posted May 4, 2009 at 8:29 pm | Permalink

    sick vid, boyer. makes me miss sweet colorado singletrack (or singletrail, as they call it over here). supposing i don’t find any proper singletrack here near kirchzarten anytime over the summer, i just hope i can still ride the good stuff at home… keep up the good work!

  3. Posted May 6, 2009 at 6:03 pm | Permalink

    this vid is just so awesome! and the TRAILS!!! oooooooo….mmmmmmm….i wanna play on those trails.

    what helmet-camera are you using?

    and, i have to say, those still shots are really, realy neat… i love the angles you’re getting —

    jj

    • epicrides
      Posted May 6, 2009 at 6:09 pm | Permalink

      i am using a gopro hero wide angle camera. really cheap but it takes nice video and pics. i am really happy with it. you should come ride in c-springs. we have some killer trails.

  4. Posted May 7, 2009 at 6:07 pm | Permalink

    Yes! Would love to ride in the springs again. I know you all have some tremendsously special (killer) trails down there. Rode some wonderful set of loops out of woodland park with Paul and his crazycrew last spring… and would like to get over there again in the next couple of weeks. perhaps another small group ride?

    i REALLY love what the wide-angle is doing for the pix and the vid. lots of depth created there.

    Keep it comin’!

    jj
    jenmeinerz at hotmail dot com


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

