plane crash

Our single speed sundays ride ended up being pretty killer last week. I usually send a text out to everyone the night before and let them know the route and time we are meeting (if you want on the list hit me up with your number!). Out of the 20 or so messages I sent out I got one reply, so I kind of figured we would have a small group. Ryan and I rolled out of the coffee shop around 9 and ran into Tori and Mary on the way. I was excited to hear they were going up the same climb as us so I figured we could ride together until they had to turn off. We stopped at Jon’s house on the way and Mary and Tori kept going assuming we would meet them on the climb. At Jon’s house we hooked up with Paul and Doug and headed out. I was really excited about this ride because we had a killer little group and we were doing some exploring. We headed out up the climb and for some reason never caught Mary and Tori. After speaking with Tori later on that day we figured out they stopped in the garden to stretch and we must have passed them then and didn’t notice. The climb was nice aside from my back hurting a bit. We stopped at the over look and ate and joked around a little.

After that we headed up rampart range in search of some trail Jon spotted on the map. I am not really going to get too specific about it but its a decent ways back. We found what we thought was the trail we were looking for but it ended up being something totally different. The trail we found was amazing and a total blast to ride and Jon Figured out where we were and sort of put together a route of how to get back. It worked out pretty well aside from a decent hike a bike and a fair amount of complaining on my part. We found where an old b-24 smashed into the side of the mountain. Not much left of it aside from some landing gear parts and a few chunks of melted aluminum.

The descent from the plane crash made all the frustrating parts of the ride so worth it. It was nice and fast and had good flow and the view was insane! I was riding behind Paul the whole way down the ridge just laughing because of how fun the trail was. By the time we got home it was a 8 hour adventure which was funny because as we were leaving Doug said something to the effect of “nothing like an 8 hour bike ride with your friends” and I remember thinking to myself that the ride was going to be like 4-5 hours and no where near 8. Either way it was still fun and I am glad I went. I stayed up super late putting this video together. Its hard to edit a 8 hour ride down into 15 minutes. Its worth watching until the end because that ridge looks so crazy.

On the way home we saw big horned sheep and Jon explored this little cave off to the side of the road. good times!

9 Comments

  1. doug
    Posted May 19, 2009 at 5:27 pm | Permalink

    where’s the footage of the madman’s traverse and the hour or so of bushwacking

    • Jon Csakany
      Posted May 19, 2009 at 7:22 pm | Permalink

      Doug, you were doing alot of whinning for a guy that is going to hike around 20 miles on one bike ride.

      • doug
        Posted May 19, 2009 at 9:17 pm | Permalink

        there is a big difference between hiking on a trail, knowing where the end is…. and wandering thru the mountains hoping to run across a trail. it was an awesome adventure, i just like whinning

  2. epicrides
    Posted May 19, 2009 at 5:40 pm | Permalink

    HA HA mad mans traverse indeed. i was too grumpy to bust out my camera at that point. paul got some sweet shots of the hike a bike stuff.

    • Jon Csakany
      Posted May 19, 2009 at 7:32 pm | Permalink

      Scott, thanks for documenting our rides I value the time I spend with you exploring our backyard.

  3. thefreewheels
    Posted May 19, 2009 at 8:54 pm | Permalink

    Jeez, guys. You’re making me super jealous over here in Euroland… I miss super-sweet-secret-singletrack. The plane crash ride has been on my to-do list for quite some time now, along with the ridge down. Looks rad. I sure hope you guys are into doing it again this fall…

  4. epicrides
    Posted May 19, 2009 at 8:59 pm | Permalink

    i am down to do it again. just be ready for a gnarly hike.

  5. Posted May 20, 2009 at 1:50 am | Permalink

    ohman.

    great write up! pix were GOOD — the vid was EXCELLENT —that ridge line around the 7:25 mark… wwwhhhoooiiieeee!!!

    what an excellent adventure and ride. would love to swap secret rides sometime… how is that?

    and, what would happen if you mounted the camera on your helmet facing backwards, and recorded the person/trail following you? try that yet?

    nice job. super jealous. super duper jealous. that is some sweet trail.

    jj

  6. Pablo
    Posted May 22, 2009 at 2:56 am | Permalink

    A new kind of tri sport – hiking, biking, sheep riding/violating. And I learned a new way to carry my bike when it is too steep to push.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*