escaping the rain

It has been raining a ton for the past 2 or 3 days and the 10 day forecast calls for rain every day. I double checked all the weather websites and kind of figured out we had a small window in the morning in which we could sneak in a ride. Getting up early enough to get my riding cloths together and stretch was a task but it was well worth it. Before we left I was able to hang out with my friend Casey who was in town for a few days. Casey and I have been friends since 2nd grade and I cherish his friendship greatly. He has 2 hilarious dogs named Gunnar and Ridge. Both of them crack me up every time I see them. It was a nice start to my day to get to hang out with Casey before he went back on the road. Casey is a great mountain biker but was unable to join us because he had to catch a flight.

By the time Ryan and I hit the canyon the dirt was super tracky so the climb up the chutes was awesome. The entire way up closed goldcamp we could see fresh tracks from a group just ahead of us. We were determined to catch them and see who it was but we never did. By the time we got to the lookout we had a choice of heading up and doing pipeline as we planed or going down Mcneily. We chose wisely and went down Mcneily. Just as we finished the trail we started to get rained on and managed to make it home just in time to miss the storm by less than 5 minutes! It was a great day. I feel lucky I was able to squeeze a 4 1/2 hour ride in. Here is a video. At 5:21 Ryan has a super funny crash worth watching.

One Comment

  1. Posted May 26, 2009 at 1:43 am | Permalink

    alright… i like the choice in music on this one — for the way it works with the way things moved in the vid…

    i have got to get down there and bribe you to show me some trails.

    and, i’m going to ask you again… i know you answered once before, but i can’t find it: what camera are you using? sorry to have to ask again.

    keep it up. your stuff is really fun!

    jj


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

