emerald valley

Jon and I decided to test our our multi-day camping gear on the emerald valley trail system. We rode up after I got off work on Thursday night. I was able to fit way more than I expected in my bags and when I weighed it with full bottle cages my bike came in at around 29 pounds. Doesn’t seem too bad but riding a riding with with weight on the front and back of your bike is more difficult than you would expect. The climb wasn’t too bad. We made it to the camp site right as it was getting dark and we quickly unpacked and got a fire going. I ended up not having to use my bivy because it was so nice out so I just slept in my sleeping bag on top my bivy and stayed super warm the whole night. The next day we descended down into emerald valley and followed the old pipline up to old stage and then took the mcneily trail back towards town. It was a lot of fun. I wish I had more upper body strength so I could ride with a little more finess when my bike is loaded down. I felt like i was just bull dogging through some parts I should be flowing through. I am sure it will come with time. Here are some pictures I took along the way.

2 Comments

  1. thefreewheels
    Posted June 20, 2009 at 7:41 pm | Permalink

    Jeez, guys, make me jealous. Looks fun.

    Coming home a bit earlier than expected from Germany. Will be in the Springs for about 10 days around July 8. Hope to do some sick rides with you guys before heading off to the Canadian World Cups…

    Joey

  2. Pablo
    Posted June 23, 2009 at 2:51 pm | Permalink

    Cool. What route did you take to get to the pipe line? We bushwhacked over from rosemont a couple of years ago. It was one of ‘those’ rides where we got off route and when we did find the trail it disappeared under an ass ton of deadfall. We kept saying we would go back and clean it but never got around to it.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

