monarch crest trail

Mary and I both had a full day off yesterday so we headed down to Salida and did the monarch crest trail. For me the first crest ride of the year always seems to be the most fun. We got up to the pass a little late so we decided to try and motor through the ride to try and avoid the rain. We didn’t do a lot of stopping and tried to keep a good pace as best we could. I didn’t find my legs until we dropped below timber line. I always seem to struggle with those alpine climbs. It just always feels like I am moving in slow motion when I am up that high. Marshall pass came and went with no problem. I felt super strong up that climb but was kind of dreading the descent down silver creek. In the past for me riding down silver creek with a rigid fork has always kind of done a number on my arms. This time around I tried to stay as loose as I could and that seemed to help a fair amount. It still baffles me how loose and rocky that trail is. At points I find myself shaking my head because it seems like the trail contains more rocks than actual dirt. We hit the rainbow trail with a fair amount of gas in our tank still and motored through the rest of the ride pretty quickly. The entire day we only encountered 2 riders and that was with within a mile of 285. It felt like we had the crest to ourselves that day. Doesn’t get much better than that.

One Comment

  1. Posted July 12, 2009 at 12:56 am | Permalink

    nice pix! wonderful that you two had the place to yourselves! that is special … and likely nice and FAST!

    love the pic of mary gettin’ out of the water — and of you rollin’ by the trees…. thanks for the crest-stoke!

    jj


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

