scar attempt #2

Yesterday 7 of us set out to try and find the mystery Douglas creek trail that we think could connect us into the ridge above the scar with the plane crash. It was my idea to get everyone together for this ride so I sent out emails a week before hand letting people know the basic route and ride although I am not sure everyone that showed up fully understood what they were in for. I take full responsibility for that. It ended up being a long hard day. Longer than anyone expected. I can only hope everyone had fun. The ride had some really hard parts to it but I still had a lot of fun with my friends. It was an adventure for sure!

We rode up rampart range road past the lookout and headed up towards the boys camp area. We left early and avoided the heat on the climb but we had some exposed hike a bike sections to deal with later on.

After reaching a point in the road where we though we would encounter the ridge we needed to jump on we started bush wacking and consulting the map. We ended up finding a trail that looked promising and after a fair amount of arguing we decided to follow that trail thinking it was the douglas creek trail we had been seeing on the atlas.

The trail has been mostly used by horses but was really fun to ride. Unfortunately it was not the douglas creek trail. It was just another feeder trail into Queens canyon and we ended up in the same spot we were last time. We accepted out fate and rode down queens. The trail down Queens canyon is so pretty and lush. Its a great trail and with some work to add some flow it could be a ton of fun.

Before we started the hike a bike from hell out of queens we stopped and Jon filtered water for everyone and Joey found a geocache of some sort next to the water fall.

We hiked up in the same general area as we did last time. I thought the hike would be easier since we know that we had some sweet payoff at the top. That did not make the hike any easier. At that point I was feeling bad that I suckered everyone into this wild goose chase. We all struggled on the hike and reach the top with little motivation to look for the douglas creek trail. Jon set out by himself up the trail and came back after a while said it didn’t look very promising. We all hung out in the shade and rested for the sweet descent we had ahead of us.

The ridge was just as awesome as I remember it being. We stuck together all the way to the scar. I hope everyone else enjoyed the trail as much as I did. At this point I was super excited just to be back on trail we could ride.

After reach the scar we ate a little and headed down. I ran out of water right as we reached the scar. I went through a full 100 oz camel back and 4 24oz bottle that day and I felt like I could have drank more. We didn’t see any big horned sheep while coming down the scar. I was a little bummed about that. By the time I got back home I had been out for 9 hours. What a day! We have a big one planned for next weekend as well. No searching form trail on this one but it will be pretty tough. Lets hope everyone comes back after the death march we had yesterday.

3 Comments

  1. Joey
    Posted August 24, 2009 at 7:27 pm | Permalink

    Sick pix. That wheelie picture of me looks pretty sweet – I’ll have to make that face more often when riding!

    Boyer, I had tons of fun, as always. Don’t worry about the hike-a-bike. These rides get us out into places where hardly anyone ever goes, and I think that’s awesome!

  2. Pablo
    Posted August 24, 2009 at 10:28 pm | Permalink

    I was thinking of you guys – it was a cooker for sure. This is crazy talk I know, but maybe we should go up there without them crazy wheeled beasts and find that connector on foot. Did you find the Jon’s mythical scree trail out of Queen’s or did you do the same hike as last time.

  3. epicrides
    Posted August 24, 2009 at 10:34 pm | Permalink

    I agree paul I think thats our best best at this point. maybe spend a day hiking up there trying to figure out a route. I am getting a gps soon. I think that may help as well.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

